Illustration work in progress

This is a small section of illustration I started working on a few nights ago, its still pretty rough round the edges but it’s getting there. It’s loosely based on a random picture of an old man I found in my images collection, I referenced the picture for a rough idea of light and shadow and the rest is imagination. My aim is to create a weathered look, like the face is a huge monument formed of twisted wood, rock and other natural materials that have been blasted by the elements over time.  It’s to be part of a larger landscape image, I won’t give too much away at this point, but the finished image will be posted soon(ish).

Sea DogSea dog 2

 

 

5 thoughts on “Illustration work in progress

  1. so sick! the bark of trees, recycled paper stacks, rocks…the image took a couple seconds to pop out at first because my eyes were mesmerized by the texture. awesome job

    1. I’m creating the image digitally using Manga Studio(drawing program), just alternating between black and white layers. I plan to do a speed paint video of the next one in this style soon.

Leave a Reply

