The Final Handshake

the_final_handshake3

Here’s a piece I’ve been working on and off during the late nights for a couple of weeks now, a visualization what I imagine Man’s final handshake could be.  I started by hand drawing the various elements before scanning them in and arranging and adding colour elements in Photoshop. It’s now been through a heap of changes since its initial incarnation- originally it was to be a quick small black and white portrait format piece, with just the figures and the landfill hill with a plain coloured backdrop. Then I started organically adding elements – smoke twists, a few hills etc, and it kept increasing the frame/zooming out until eventually it just evolved into more of a sprawling landscape piece. It’s been through a load of colour changes too, monochrome  initially, to gloomy sepia, to the usual apocolyptic fiery red and then the nuclear green hue it is now.

Let’s just hope it doesn’t actually happen. Enjoy!

11 thoughts on “The Final Handshake

  1. I Love the whoLe picture…Permission to share it? Thank you.

    is it just me? the peopLe in the drawings are like characters from Dumb ways to die..

    1. Yes, Steve’s creations are such excellent expressions. And as a creative person myself, I do agree with his decision to make the “STOP Sign” pole surviving as straight and clear, which is showing that this important truth always exists strong and clear

  2. Hey Steve Cutts, you have a genius for artistic creative expression. Happy Trails and Peace Love Brother from an ol Flower Child Tree Huggin Pollinator Lover from Haight Ashbury, SF, 1966.

  3. I love your works man. They are awesome. Here’s a quote from True Detective’s series.

    “I think human consciousness, is a tragic misstep in evolution. We became too self-aware, nature created an aspect of nature separate from itself, we are creatures that should not exist by natural law. We are things that labor under the illusion of having a self; an accretion of sensory, experience and feeling, programmed with total assurance that we are each somebody, when in fact everybody is nobody. Maybe the honorable thing for our species to do is deny our programming, stop reproducing, walk hand in hand into extinction, one last midnight, brothers and sisters opting out of a raw deal.” – Rust Cohle

  4. I heard that by 2026 Nasa hopes to have an outpost on mars and with pick over what’s left of earth resources to do it. How horrible, you poison this beautiful planet and instead of trying to fix it you take off for the next one.Maybe they’ll ship all the polluters there and then the rest of can try to undo all the damage that’s been done, ( I know I sound like a planeteer but still. . .) On an unrelated note is it possible to buy art prints of your illustrations? I would really love to have this one and the man on top of the animals one to hang in my apartment.

    Thanks and keep up the great work

  5. I like the art very much and the message it conveys, I am also very interested in your process, I am an artist and would like to use digital to complete my pieces, I find that some of the programs I use are not very good quality, when they are resized digitally. Great work.

Leave a Reply

